Hoping to raise the average age - Here's to experience!

I read somewhere the average age of candidates funded at Y Combinator -– a leading incubator for start-ups --  is 26.  I watched a YouTube video last night with one of the founders and someone asked if they accepted older applicants.  "Yes, we've actually had people in their 30's."  I had to laugh.  We just applied for YC – me at 45 and my co-founder, Marlene, at 61.   We are building what we believe to be a solid foundation for our startup, and we really want to be part of YC.  Being mentored by the best would accelerate our learning curve significantly.  

The funny story yesterday was in "the making of the video," an important part of the YC application process.  Marlene lives in the Bay Area, and I live in SoCal, so we had to coordinate making a video, merging it, etc.  We talked about what we were going to wear, how we were going to be positioned, lighting, backdrop, verbiage, etc.  Marlene sent me a picture of a singer from her mother’s era -- Perry Como (may need to Google if you are under 50) where he's half sitting on a bar stool, leaning forward.  On the wardrobe question, I say, "I don't want to wear anything too stuffy, …I want to look like I'm going to meet for tea."  We make decisions and end the call.

I check YouTube to see sample videos posted by others who have applied to YC.  Oh, my. Young, young, young people.  The most amusing one included pictures of half-naked women on a refrigerator in the background.  And my partner and I are talking about Perry Como and tea.  I could not stop laughing. We might well be distinguished as the oldest applicants ever to apply to YC, but I’ll argue that our combined 64 years of experience give us some wisdom, mature judgment and thick skin. And maybe a little edge on success.

Here’s hoping we’re one of the lucky ones to be chosen for the YC incubator. If we are, we will have a great time, do our utmost and significantly raise the average age.  


 


15 responses
Are you really looking for a CTO? I have 18 year of experience with Real estate related tech startups.
is there a way to see comments? odd...
We most definitely are. Email me at Karentcrye@yahoo.com
Age is but a number. Go for it. Be prepared for failure, not once, twice but many time...keep at it...keep iterating... Whats the worse that can happen? Good Luck.
Thanks Mohammed! There's really no downside. I'm learning, growing, and having fun!
Congratulations Karen! This is an amazing initiative! I really liked the idea that you are trying to begin a startup in the middle of so many young people. This is good, socially healthy, because it shows that not only young people are trying to do something useful, but others are too. In my opinion, it helps to give balance to these incubators.
Thanks Doug! My co-founder, Marlene, calls this our "bonus round".
It has been six months...any updates?
Hi Erik, Wow, I can't believe it's been six months. It's been crazy and wonderful at the same time. Six months ago I thought I knew what it took to build a start up, turns out I had no clue. I learn about 30 new things each day. Since this post, we've incorporated, built our landing page, I've learned to code (some), and our MVP is complete. We're just working on uploading the immense amount of data and working through the finishing touches. We'll be launching a private beta test on November 1st. Our pitch deck, executive summary, pro-forma, and business plan are also complete. We moved our blog to www.snapcrackleprop.com and our website is www.snapprop.com There have been so many challenges but we've learned valuable lessons from all of them. Looking forward to what the next six months brings. Thanks for checking in!
6 visitors upvoted this post.